Home / Store / Strike the Harp: An Irish Christmas Revels

Strike the Harp: An Irish Christmas Revels

Item Number: CD2012


Here is a fresh and multifaceted collection of Irish music for the holiday season that captures the sounds of our 2012 Irish Christmas Revels production. As you listen, imagine the scene on the Revels stage. We are on the deck of the RMS Carpathia, bound from Liverpool to New York in 1907. Irish families have booked passage for America with bittersweet emotions – dreams of better lives mingled with the pain of leaving their homes, probably forever.

With a band of fabulous musicians skilled in Irish musical tradition, both vocal and instrumental; our 60-member chorus; and the Cambridge Symphonic Brass, the breadth and beauty of this music will draw you into the joy, celebration, and mystery of the winter season.

Listen Now

Hear samples from select pieces.

Full songlist below:

1. Overture
2. The Wexford Carol
3. There’s a Big Ship Sailing
4. Nos Galan/Deck The Hall
5. Set Dance Polkas
6. Colcannon
7. Bánchnoic Éireann Ó
8. Band Set
9. The Rocky Road to Dublin
10. Ye Sons of Men, with Me Rejoice
11. Wexford Lullaby
12. The Darkest Midnight in December
13. Saint Patrick’s Breastplate
14. The Wren in the Furze
15. Band Set 2
16. Down by the Sally Gardens
17. Mary the Money
18. Dowdeldey Dow
19. Dance to Your Daddy
20. Set Dance Slides
21. Hymn for a New Land
22. Bonus Track 1: Reels
23. Bonus Track 2: Jigs