Home / Store / Wassail! Wassail!

Wassail! Wassail!

Item Number: CD1082


“A joyful intermingling of high art and folk music…includes the most beautiful recording of the Shaker tune ‘I Will Bow and Be Simple’ available on disc.” The Detroit News

Revels visits early America in this classic, Parents Choice Award-winning recording featuring Kentucky folk legend Jean Ritchie and beloved public radio personality Robert J. Lurtsema. Haunting, austerely gorgeous, and front-porch friendly, this recording is as American as a Shaker chair, as universal and timeless as, well, the Revels itself.

Listen Now

Hear samples from select pieces.

Full songlist below:

1. Exultation
2. The Angel and the Shepherds / Go Tell It on the Mountain
3. Iglulik Eskimo Poem
4. The Huron Indian Carol
5. The Babe of Bethlehem
6. Star Silver
7. The Cherry Tree Carol
8. New Hosanna
9. Glory to the Mountain
10. Children, Go Where I Send Thee
11. The Kentucky Wassail Carol
12. The Christmas Tree
13. Chicken Foot
14. Mountain Christmas Carolling
15. Wondrous Love
16. I Will Bow and Be Simple
17. Shall I Tell You Who Will Come?
18. Jesus, Jesus, Rest your Head
19. The Young Convert
20. The Young Convert
21. Shall We Gather at the River?